Home System list When is the next travel announcement? The green list of dates...

When is the next travel announcement? The green list of dates will be updated, and which countries could be added


The British government has expanded the green travel list, adding Malta, the Spanish Balearic Islands and the Portuguese island of Madeira, as well as a number of Caribbean islands and British overseas territories.

However, most traditional holiday destinations, such as mainland Spain, France and Greece, have not been selected and remain on the Amber List.

This means that they will have to wait for the next travel review to have a chance to go green.

When is the next travel announcement?

The government reviews the traffic light system every three weeks.

This means that the next announcement should take place on Thursday, July 15, and any changes will take effect the following week.

The Department for Transport said: “These regular review points will allow the government to balance helping the public understand Covid requirements while traveling to England while allowing us to continuously assess the risk for different countries.”

Which countries could be added to the green list?

All eyes will be on countries like Italy, Poland and the United States, which all have low rates of Covid and could have been added in the last review.

The Greek Islands could be added to the list in the same way that the Spanish Balearic Islands were, and the Canary Islands could also be on the list.

The PC agency said based on current data, countries such as Germany, Canada, Mexico, Croatia, Finland and Morocco should have been added in the most recent review. These nations could be on the green list next time if their situation continues to improve.

How the traffic light system works

The lists are decided on the basis of the following criteria:

  • The percentage of a country’s population that has been vaccinated
  • The infection rate
  • The prevalence of worrisome variants
  • The country’s access to reliable scientific data and genomic sequencing

Here are the rules for each traffic light system listing:

  • Green: Arrivals will need to pass a pre-departure test as well as a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test by the second day of their return to the UK at the latest – but will not need to be quarantined on their return (unless they receive a positive result) or take additional tests
  • Amber: Arrivals will need to be quarantined for a period of 10 days and pass a pre-departure test, as well as a PCR test on the second and eighth day. There will be the option to take an additional test on the fifth day to end self-isolation earlier
  • Red: Arrivals will be subject to the restrictions currently in place for ‘red list’ countries which include a 10-day stay in a managed quarantine hotel, pre-departure testing, and mandatory PCR testing on days two and eight.

The government has told people not to travel to countries not on the “green list” except for essential reasons.

PCR tests should be booked through one of the government approved suppliers.

The government has been looking for ways to lower the price of testing, with PCR testing typically costing around £ 120 to £ 160, while some travel providers have heavily subsidized the costs.

Amber List Trip for Double Sting

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said the government plans to open Amber List countries to fully vaccinated people later this summer.

“We are continuing our efforts to safely reopen international travel this summer, and thanks to the success of our vaccination program, we are now able to consider lifting the quarantine period for fully vaccinated UK arrivals from countries amber – showing a real sign of progress, ”said Shapps.

This would essentially make the Amber List countries green for people with a double bite, and could be announced during the next review.

Green List Countries

Countries are expected to join the green list from 4 a.m. on Wednesday, June 30:

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • the Balearic Islands
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • Grenade
  • Madeira
  • Malta
  • Montserrat
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • Turks and Caicos Islands

Countries already on the green list:

  • Australia
  • Brunei
  • the falkland islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • New Zealand
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • Singapore

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here