Home Census No change for magisterial districts after 2020 census

No change for magisterial districts after 2020 census


April 14—After a year-long delay due to the pandemic, Pulaski County’s masterful redistricting based on 2020 census counts is complete and has been unanimously approved by the Pulaski Tax Court.

The magistrates received the redistricting plan, which contains no changes to the number of districts or their boundaries, at Tuesday’s regular meeting by committee chairman Rick Barker.

Barker noted that the plan was based on population rather than voter registration. “The numbers on the sheet are from the US Census Bureau,” he said. “Of the tree [committees] I served, it’s the first time I’ve seen the numbers come out as they are.”

The president, who is currently in real estate but also has experience with 911 (which involves mapping and addressing), explained that the 2020 census was conducted mostly online and was disrupted by COVID. . Over the past 30 years, Barker said there has been a “gradual shift” from District 4 to District 5, but that hasn’t happened this time.

“Basically what I think they did, and we have no control over that, they just went all over the place for our census in Kentucky and added 2.3% to everyone else” , Barker said, explaining that the county was still aligned with the boundaries. approved after the 2010 census. “Nobody grew up; no one declined. They only show the county with a 2.3% increase in population. I deal with real estate; I can assure you that Pulaski County over the past 11 years has grown tremendously more than that. »

Although he may have questioned the rate of population increase, Barker noted that the committee was required by law to rely on numbers provided by the U.S. Census Bureau. He also noted that the committee reviewed the number of magisterial districts and determined that the current five performed even better.

According to information provided with the committee’s recommendation, the county’s population breakdown for 2020 was as follows:

—District 1 — 13,006 in total in West Somerset, Saline, Nancy, Harrison, Som 3B Courthouse, Firebrook, Oak Hill, Okalona, ​​Naomi East and Naomi West.

—District 2—12,570 total in Girdler, Hickory Nut, Ansel, Science Hill City, Science Hill County, Buncombe, Somerset 1 Courthouse, Somerset 3A Huffaker, Mt. Zion, Eubank, Estesburg, Fall Branch, and Norwood.

—District 3—13,057 total at Som 2 City Hall, Caney Fork, Som 4A Rocky Hollow, Som 4B Meece Middle, Price, Good Hope, Vaught, Catron, Dallas, and Som 3C Saddlebrook.

—District 4—13,228 total at Som 5A Memorial, Rush Branch, Parker, Mark, Bourbon East, Mayfield, Mt. Victory, Ferguson, Colo, Gilliland, Som 5C Mall, Som 5E Grand Central, and Som 6 South End.

-District 5 – 13,173 total in Burnside City, Burnside County, East Burnside Co, Bourbon West, West Burnside County, Gamblin, Bronston North, Som 5D Neighborhood, Bronston South and Sloans Valley.

Barker informed the court that if they chose not to approve the plan, it would be forwarded to the Circuit Court for a judge to approve. But the magistrates voted willingly in his favor, on a motion by District 5 Magistrate Mike Strunk and second from District 2 Magistrate Mike Wilson.

Executive Judge Steve Kelley thanked the committee for their work. In addition to Barker, the volunteer committee consisted of Becki Childers, Alex Wilson and Rod Dick. They were nominated last January and voted on March 24 on their recommendation.

The map should be revised again in 2031.