Home System list NFL MVP Winners: Complete list of players with the most MVPs, repeat winners

NFL MVP Winners: Complete list of players with the most MVPs, repeat winners



The 2021 NFL MVP will be announced on Saturday, February 12, one day before Super Bowl 56.

Since 1957, the MVP award has been given to the player who has performed well during the regular season. The NFL MVP is different from the Super Bowl MVP in that the NFL award is given solely based on the player’s performance in the regular season. 49 different players won the award.

More often than not, a quarterback wins the MVP title. And, in 2021, it looks like it will likely be the case again as Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers and Buccaneers quarterback Tom Brady lead the way. Both players have already won the MVP. Of the 65 winners in history, 44 were quarterbacks. Another quarterback hasn’t won the title since 2012 when running back Adrian Peterson won.

MORE: NFL MVP odds 2021

Here’s where active players rank based on the number of MVP titles they’ve won, as well as players who’ve won back-to-back MVP titles.

Who has won the most NFL MVPs in history?

Former Colts and Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning has won the most MVP in NFL history with five wins. These victories took place in 2003, 2004, 2008, 2009 and 2013.

After Manning, five players are tied for second with three wins each. The two active players who are tied for second are Aaron Rodgers and Tom Brady. These two quarterbacks also have a great chance of winning the 2021 NFL MVP, which would place them only in second place.

Here is a list of most NFL MVPs, including all players who have won more than one MVP title.

Player Victories Year
Peyton manning 5 2003, 2004, 2008, 2009, 2013
Aaron Rodgers 3 2011, 2014, 2020
Tom brady 3 2007, 2010, 2017
Brett Favre 3 1995, 1996, 1997
Jim brown 3 1957, 1958, 1965
Johnny unitas 3 1959, 1964, 1967
Kurt warner 2 1999, 2001
Steve young 2 1992, 1994
Joe montana 2 1989, 1990

MORE: RB History To Win NFL MVP

Which NFL players have won back-to-back MVPs?

In NFL history, there have only been five consecutive winners for the NFL MVP title. Former Packers quarterback Brett Favre is the only player to win the MVP title three times in a row.

Here are which players have won the title in consecutive years.

Player Year
Jim brown 1957, 1958
Joe montana 1989, 1990
Brett Favre 1995, 1996, 1997
Peyton manning 2003, 2004 & 2008, 2009

Who votes for the NFL MVP?

Each year, the Associated Press chooses 50 voters. Typically, these voters work in the NFL media or pay special attention to football.

The 50 chosen people voted after week 18 in mid-January. They rank players in a points system, and the player who earns the most points wins the NFL MVP that year.

Only two players in history have ever won unanimously: Tom Brady in 2010 and Lamar Jackson in 2019.

Who won the 2020 NFL MVP title?

Aaron Rodgers won the 2020 NFL MVP title for the third time in his career. He won in 2011 and 2014 before.

Rodgers tops the 2021 NFL MVP ratings at +150, and if he wins the title for the second year in a row, he would be the fifth player in history to do so. It would also be the sixth time that a consecutive victory has taken place.

NFL Honors 2021: Full list of all winners as Aaron Rodgers takes third MVP

Who won the NFL MVP and the Super Bowl MVP in the same year?

The NFL regular season MVP hasn’t won a Super Bowl title since 1999, when Kurt Warner did both. Nine players in history have won the regular season MVP title and then the Super Bowl title, while the NFL MVP has lost in the Super Bowl 10 times.

Only six players won the NFL MVP and Super Bowl MVP in the same season, the last time being Kurt Warner in 1999 as well.

Here’s a look at which players who won the NFL MVP appeared in the Super Bowl in the same season.

Player Year (Regular season) Super Bowl Result Super Bowl MVP?
Bart starr 1966 To earn Yes
Terry bradshaw 1978 To earn Yes
Mark Moseley 1982 To earn No
Laurent Taylor 1986 To earn No
Joe montana 1989 To earn Yes
Emmitt smith 1993 To earn Yes
Steve young 1994 To earn Yes
Brett Favre 1996 To earn No
Brett Favre 1997 Loss No
Kurt warner 1999 To earn Yes
Kurt warner 2001 Loss No
Rich gannon 2002 Loss No
Shaun Alexander 2005 Loss No
Tom brady 2007 Loss No
Peyton manning 2009 Loss No
Peyton manning 2013 Loss No
Cam Newton 2015 Loss No
Matt ryan 2016 Loss No
Tom brady 2017 Loss No