Home System list Full list of hotel quarantine destinations and new travel restrictions explained

Full list of hotel quarantine destinations and new travel restrictions explained


The traffic light system was removed during a major overhaul of Covid’s travel restrictions in England on Friday, September 17.

This means that the three tier travel system is replaced with a category of low risk travel destinations alongside a red list.

As expected, testing requirements are also significantly reduced for people who have received both doses of the Covid vaccine.

Fully vaccinated arrivals will no longer need to undergo a pre-departure lateral flow test or an expensive post-arrival PCR test if they arrive from a country on the “green list”.

In addition to the major overhaul, eight countries were redlisted in the announcement, with the changes taking effect from Wednesday, September 22 at 4 a.m.:

  • Bangladesh
  • Egypt
  • Kenya
  • Maldives
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Turkey

These destinations will join the combined green and orange list in the low risk travel category, with those lists starting from Monday, October 4 at 4:00 a.m.

Which countries are on the red list?

This means that from September 22, the red list will be as follows:

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Green cap
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Congo (Democratic Republic)
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Georgia
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Indonesia
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mayotte
  • Mexico
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Mozambique
  • Burma
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Meeting
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
Transportation Secretary Grant Shapps usually announces changes to the traffic light system (Photo: Anadolu / Getty Images)

What are the red list rules?

Arrivals from Red List countries must complete a 10 day stay in a managed quarantine hotel, pre-departure testing and mandatory PCR testing no later than day 2 and on or after day 8.

You can only enter the UK if you are a UK or Irish national, or if you have UK residence rights.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here